Butternut Squash

butternut squash

butternut squash

I like butternut squash. I love the word squash, I love the texture, the color, and the flavor (if buttered). There are many types of squash, but I don’t remember the names of other types I’ve tried so I can’t compare. I wonder if there is a squash festival, I probably wouldn’t go but I bet the people that do attend are cute and friendly and slow paced. I wouldn’t know the health benefits of squash are without livestrong.com. Winter squash contain high levels of vitamin A that may help protect against emphysema. There’s  also a correlation between eating foods high in the carotenoid beta-cryptoxanthin, and decreased incidence of lung cancer. I highly doubt squash is going to save a dying lung cancer patient, but hey it can’t hurt. If you’re interested on reading more health benefits on squash, click here. 

I prepared my squash in 10 minutes. My mom bought the pre cut and packaged squash and I steamed it for 10 minutes. Once squishy I put some butter and salt and had a healthy snack. Try it out if you want to prevent cancer and boost your fiber levels.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

